My last post was the final installment in my reading of Andrew Louth’s Discerning the Mystery and I have now provided links to all the posts in this reading on my Completed Series page.

I am sure that there is a lot more that one can say about this book, but I am leaving it aside for now. I had not intended to spend so much time on it or to write on it so extensively, but it somehow seemed to demand my attention. I’m aware that much of what I wrote was more recapitulating what Father Louth was arguing rather than providing a particularly intelligent commentary, but it has been having an effect on me that in some respects I still need to verbalise properly, and I’m not sure how much of that I really want to blog on in public!

In any case, I’m laying it aside for now. There are other books by Father Louth that I hope to read in the not-too-distant future, and a couple of articles that I intend writing on soon. And I really do intend picking up my reading of Being as Communion again: that was the real reason for starting this blog, but Discerning the Mystery sort of jumped up and said “Read me!” and it didn’t work trying to write on two books at once.

