nativity

The light shines in darkness, in this life and in the flesh, and is chased by the darkness but is not overtaken by it. By this I mean the adverse power leaping up in its shamelessness against the visible Adam but encountering God and being defeated – in order that we, putting away the darkness, may draw near to the Light and may then become perfect Light, the children of perfect Light.

Gregory of Nazianzus. On the Holy Lights, Oration 39.2, quoted in John 1-10, Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture New Testament IVa (InterVarsity Press, 2006) 27.

A blessed Christmas to all you celebrate it tomorrow!

I’m going to take a bit of a break from blogging until next week. Well, I might post quotes if I read things that seem worth sharing, but the next chapter of Zizioulas and the various half-formed posts floating around in my head can wait awhile.

