I suppose that it’s possible that there are people who don’t know this, so I may as well state the obvious: Cape Town is the most beautiful city in the entire world. The photo below was taken from just around the corner from where I am going to be working.

And this is the view that greeted me when I went outside this morning.

I suspect that people are beginning to think me slightly nuts, for I can barely look at the mountain without going on about how marvelous it is. But then I lived for years in a country without mountains and, well, that is simply not good for one! And, to be honest, moving to Cape Town was not part of my original plan. But the way things have worked out is nothing short of providential.

Anyway, things are finally becoming definite. In November I start a new job as a bookbinder. It’s a skill I learnt while with the Cistercians and, while this job does not involve any specialized work, it will hopefully give me space to settle and to process things, and it is work that I enjoy. I suspect that I have more or less burnt my bridges as far as academic theology is concerned, at least as it is practiced in mainline western academia. While I may well pursue some more academic work once I’m more settled, I don’t want to be forced into anything.

And, with the employment details finalized, I have also managed to find somewhere to stay – simple, but in a safe area near my work, and on the slopes of Table Mountain. What more could I want? I moved in yesterday and there is still a bit of practical sorting out to do, but it is so good to be able to put down roots, at least for a while, and to seek the stability and the space of the cell and to wait to discover what God is going to do next!

