This blog has been horribly neglected and I’m not sure that is really going to change. There are various reasons for the neglect, and various factors that have resulted in a rather severe writer’s block over the last several years. I won’t go into everything now and I’m not sure if and when and how I will manage to start writing again. But I have been meaning to tidy up some things on this blog, and also to link to my bookbinding site. After years of struggling to make a living from bookbinding, and being forced to do some academic editing, which I hated and which a mid-life ADHD meltdown made increasingly difficult, I finally found my niche. I am now selling handbound books to a largely foreign market. These are mainly Psalters, Gospels, and early Christian texts that are in the public domain, and that I have typeset, printed, and bound. I sell them on my Annesi Bindings website, but you will probably see more examples of them on my Facebook and Instagram pages. I also have a very neglected YouTube channel that I am hoping to revive soon, in conjunction with a new development that I will make public before long.

But my reason for posting this here is that I am currently running a fundraiser for Saint Porphyrios Orthodox Church in Gaza, which was attacked on Thursday, 19 October during the current Israeli assault on Gaza, resulting in the deaths of 18 of the refugees who had been sheltering in the Church’s buildings. In an attempt to stand in solidarity with the people of Gaza during this terrible time, I am raffling a set containing a handbound Psalter and Book of the Gospels, together with a slip case. There has already been a good response, but I’m also sharing it here in the hope of reaching more people who would like to contribute. You can find more information and buy tickets here, and the raffle closes this coming Saturday. Please also feel free to share this with anyone who might be interested!